

Illinois Innovation Network Council Meeting Minutes Thursday, September 23, 2021 1:00 – 3:00 PM

Welcome and Introductions

Jerry Blazey, IIN Council Chair called the meeting to order. Chair Blazey welcomed Kim Kidwell, Interim Associate Chancellor for Strategic Partnerships & Initiatives at University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, and former Dean of ACES. Kim will be taking Susan Martinis' seat on the Council. Chair Blazey announced the retirement of Beth Cada, Governors State University.

Jay Walsh, Interim Vice President for Economic Development & Innovation, University of Illinois System office welcomed everyone and expressed his congratulations to Council Member Cada on her retirement.

Roll Call

Lori Pflugmacher conducted roll call. The following Council members answered present: Jerry Blazey, Denise Cobb, Chris Merrett, Kristy Kuzmuk proxy for TJ Augustine, Mike Bedell, Beth Cada, Ryan Hendrickson, Pradeep Khanna, Kim Kidwell, Gary Kinsel, Paul Leamon, Craig McLauchlan, Bruce Sommer

Nay: None,

Not in attendance: Leslie Roundtree, Alex Stagnero-Green

Others in attendance: Jay Walsh, Kyle Harfst, Jisu Hong, Ben Taylor, Lori Pflugmacher, Jeannette Tamayo, Tony DeLisi, Jennifer Vernon, Gabe Sanders, Jun Zhao, Susan Martinis, Lynn Anderson Lindberg, Rex Schaeffer, Laura Frerichs, Lynda Ransdell, Amy Buhrow

Approval of May 27 Council Meeting Minutes

Motion to approve by Mike Bedell Seconded by Gary Kinsel

Aye: Jerry Blazey, Denise Cobb, Chris Merrett, Kristy Kuzmuk proxy for TJ Augustine, Mike Bedell, Beth Cada, Ryan Hendrickson, Pradeep Khanna, Kim Kidwell, Gary Kinsel, Paul Leamon, Craig McLauchlan, Bruce Sommer Nay: None Motion Carried

Public Comment – none received



IIN Strategic Plan

Kyle Harfst introduced Tony DeLisi, Director of Strategy; Jennifer Vernon, Project Manager; and Gabe Sanders, Illinois Public Sector Leader from Ernst Young. Ernst Young was engaged to serve as a facilitator for the strategic planning process and ultimately the final strategic plan. Ernst Young presented the strategic plan.

Approval of the vision, mission, and strategic goals as presented

Motion made by Craig McLauchlan Seconded by Ryan Hendrickson

Aye: Jerry Blazey, Denise Cobb, Chris Merrett, Kristy Kuzmuk proxy for TJ Augustine, Mike Bedell, Beth Cada, Ryan Hendrickson, Pradeep Khanna, Kim Kidwell, Gary Kinsel, Paul Leamon, Craig McLauchlan, Bruce Sommer Nay: None Motion Carried

Alex Stagnero-Green joined at 1:36 pm

Approval to give authority to the Executive Committee of the IIN to review and approve the Strategic plan on behalf of the IIN Council. The Strategic plan will then be ratified by the full Council at the November IIN Council Meeting.

Motion made by Craig McLauchlan Seconded by Gary Kinsel

Aye: Jerry Blazey, Denise Cobb, Chris Merrett, Kristy Kuzmuk proxy for TJ Augustine, Mike Bedell, Beth Cada, Ryan Hendrickson, Pradeep Khanna, Kim Kidwell, Gary Kinsel, Paul Leamon, Craig McLauchlan, Bruce Sommer, Alex Stagnero-Green Nay: None Motion Carried

Election of IIN Officers

Kyle Harfst explained the Officers of the IIN Council are identified in Article V of the Bylaws. Officers and that of Executive Committee include the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, At Large Member, the Vice President of the Office of Economic Development and Innovation of the University of Illinois System and Executive Director of the IIN. The Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and At Large Member are appointed by the Council. According to Article VII Elections "Officers shall be elected every two years in the month of July." The election of officers took place at the organizational meeting September 2019. Therefore, the election of officers is due.



Chair Blazey appointed Beth Cada, Gary Kinsel and Kyle Harfst to serve on the nominating committee. Harfst mentioned that an email was sent to all Council members of the IIN asking for nominations. Additionally, current officers were asked if they were willing to run again and all responded yes. The nominating committee met and the recommendation to approve the following:

Approval of the candidates for officers; Chair – Jerry Blazey, Vice Chair – Leslie Roundtree, Secretary – Denise Cobb, At-large member – Chris Merrett Motion made by Beth Cada

Seconded by Craig McLaughlin

Aye: Kristy Kuzmuk proxy for TJ Augustine, Mike Bedell, Beth Cada, Ryan Hendrickson, Pradeep Khanna, Kim Kidwell, Gary Kinsel, Paul Leamon, Craig McLauchlan, Bruce Sommer, Alex Stagnero-Green Nay: None Abstain: Jerry Blazey, Denise Cobb, Chris Merrett Motion Carried

Corporate Engagement Entry Point Survey

Rex Schaefer & Amy Buhrow from the Corporate Engagement Subcommittee are seeking each hub to identify entry points and programs. Amy presented the survey on screen to show examples of the information they are seeking through the survey. The identified point person will be tasked with sending the survey to the unit leaders to complete. The survey will be forwarded to Kyle to send more broadly to help to identify those that should be targeted. The committee is requesting to have the information submitted by the end of the calendar year.

TJ Augustine joined at 1:50 pm Leslie Roundtree joined at 1:54 pm

EDA Build Back Better Proposals

Jay Walsh and Jerry Blazey lead the discussion of three identified proposals in the State of Illinois and how the IIN can work with them. The EDA slide deck describing this initiative was utilized to assist with explanation of the NOFO and breakdown of the scoring system. <u>https://eda.gov/arpa/build-back-better/</u>

New Business – No new business was noted

Meeting was adjourned at 2:54 pm

Next Meeting will be November 18, 2021